

# Hickory Withe Community Association

# P.O. Box 72 Hickory Withe, Tennessee 38028-0072 www.HickoryWithe.com

# July 11, 2013 Meeting First Baptist Church, Hickory Withe, TN

- President George McCloud called the meeting to order.
- County Commissioner Jo Ann Allen led the opening prayer.
- The Pledge of Allegiance was led by George McCloud.
- Elected officials present were County Commissioners Jo Ann Allen and Terry Leggett and Fayette County Mayor Skip Taylor.
- Our guests and the elected officials were invited to open the food line.
- Total attendance was 83.

#### **Reports:**

Secretary's Report: Donna Gay-Wainscott

A motion to approve the minutes of the June meeting was made by Rudy Watkins and seconded by Jo Ann Allen. The motion passed.

Members were reminded to update their e-mail address and contact information. These changes/corrections can also be made by e-mailing the secretary at: <a href="mailto:secretary@hickorywithe.com">secretary@hickorywithe.com</a>.

Donna reminded the members that if they had not received their ballot when they came in to see her to get it prior to tonight's vote.

# **Treasurer's Report:** Ed Patnode.

The checking account balance is \$13,379.40. The balance of the CD at the Clayton Bank is \$50,491.03. The combined balance of funds is \$63,870.43.

Benevolence Committee: Tom Nelson (no report).

#### **Hospitality:** Marilyn Kain

Thank you, Marilyn Kain and committee, for coming early to decorate the tables and set up the gym for tonight's meeting. A big thanks goes to Joe Moore and Paul Coombs for setting up the tables in the gymnasium. Joe announced that the gymnasium will be the permanent meeting place for the HWCA due to changes in classroom assignments made by the church.

### **Business:**

President George McCloud announced that it was decided at the Executive Board meeting to make a donation to Chief Ray and the Fayette County Volunteer Fire Department. A motion was made by Jo Ann Allen to donate \$500. This motion was seconded by Jim Mason. It was voted on and passed.

#### Election of Officers:

A motion was made by Ed Melton to accept the proposed candidates for Vice-president (Becky Sue Evans), for Secretary (Beverly Avery) and for Treasurer (Jim Mitchell) by acclimation as there were no opposing candidates. This motion was seconded by Jim Norton. It was voted on and passed.

The two candidates for President, Terry Leggett and Rudy Watkins, were each given an opportunity to introduce themselves to the membership and give a brief overview of their vision for the HWCA. Mr. Leggett went first with Mr. Watkins closing the speeches. Members had been issued their ballots upon their arrival at tonight's meeting. Donna Gay-Wainscott, Secretary, then went to each table having the members drop their ballots in the ballot box. A committee had been designated by the Board to count the votes. Members of this committee were Madalyn Stanford, Sandra Brewer and Jim Gallagher. This committee counted the votes and each signed off separately on the count for each candidate. These votes were recounted and confirmed by the Secretary. She compared these numbers with the number of ballots issued and confirmed the count to be true. The spokesperson for the committee, Jim Gallagher, presented the results to the membership after our speaker had completed her presentation. The results were as follows: Rudy Watkins received 53 votes and Terry Leggett received 22 votes. Rudy Watkins will be the new President of the Hickory Withe Community Association for the 2013-2014 term.

## Speaker:

One of our members, Jane Mitchell, did an excellent job presenting information regarding agriculture and farming. Jane's display of model farm implements was most impressive and informative. Many of us were surprised to find out the price of the equipment that the farmers use today. She enlightened us on the cost of raising a crop and getting it to market. She also made us aware of the role that agriculture plays in so many other aspects of our lives other than food production. Jane answered questions regarding the Farm Bill and the percentages of the money from this bill that goes directly to food production. Thank you, Jane, for the packets that contained recipes and other goodies. We appreciate you taking the time to inform all of us about the life of a farmer in today's society. We salute the hard work and dedication of our farmers!

Upcoming Secretary, Beverly Avery, reminded the membership that our next meeting will be back on the regular meeting schedule and will be held on Thursday, August 1, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.

Upon the announcement of the winner, Mr. Watkins assumed his duties as president. He conducted the drawing of the raffle tickets and adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted, Donna Gay-Wainscott, Secretary 7/13/13